All Courses

Voice Routing

Voice is treated as the highest priority Channel when routing Customers to Agents. This means that a Voice call will be routed to an Agent before any other Channel, such as a Chat, even if the Chat has been waiting longer.

Key things to know about Voice Routing

  • You won’t receive more assignments during a call

    Customers expect your utmost attention when on Voice. Because of this, when you’re actively on a Voice call, you won’t be routed any new Messaging or Mail Contacts.

  • One call at a time

    You can only handle one Voice Contact at a time. So once you accept a call, you’ll work with that individual Customer until the call ends or is transferred to a new Agent.

  • Voice is always automatically routed

    Unlike Messaging and Mail, the Next button won’t necessarily route you waiting Voice calls. Instead, Voice calls will be automatically routed to an Agent available for Voice.

Q. Why did I receive a chat while on a phone call?

Regardless of the Channel you are available to receive requests from, you cannot be assigned chats or other messaging requests while on a phone call. But, if you are speaking to a Customer and you see an active chat Conversation in their Customer Profile, it’s usually because the Customer chatted in at the same time, but another Agent received the chat request. Take note that the chat Conversation is assigned to the Agent who received the request.

See how Voice routing works

Settings that impact the Voice experience for Agents

After call work
This setting is designed to provide you with ample time after you end a call with a Customer, before you’re routed a new call. The time can be used to craft a note, generate a Conversation Summary, or collect yourself as you prepare for the next Customer.

Closing a Conversation after a call
Clicking Close & Next immediately after a call ends routes you to the next Customer. To close the Conversation without immediately receiving the next caller, click the caret arrow icon, then click Close. You’ll receive the next call after your “after call work” timer expires. 

Time before next call after declining
After declining or missing a call, the amount of time until an Agent is routed a new call.

This means that if you decline a call, that doesn’t mean the system will assume you’re now unavailable. Instead, once the time period from this settings elapses, you’ll once again be routed any new calls.

Auto-accept incoming calls
By default, Agents must click Accept to take phone calls being routed to them. If Auto-accept incoming calls is activated, calls are automatically accepted without needing to click Accept. Agents can answer calls sooner by clicking Auto-Accept in the banner, without waiting for the Auto-accept call time limit to expire.